The Search Engine Yearbook: A 10,000-foot view of the entire search engine worldSearch Engine Yearbook Globe
Search Engine Yearbook HomepageHave a question? Ask it here!Order info for the current version of SEYDisclaimerContact Us

THE CURRENT VERSION IS SEY 2003

 


List of Topical Search Engines / Vortals
by André le Roux
Dec. 2001

NOTE: For an updated list of topical search engines, please refer to the current version of the Search Engine Yearbook.

Academic / Educational Search Engines

Academic Info http://www.academicinfo.net/
Argos http://argos.evansville.edu/
Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
Britannica http://www.britannica.com/
Catalynx http://users.intrepid.net/~hollyoak/
Education Index http://www.educationindex.com/
Education Planet http://www.educationplanet.com/
Education Web Search http://www.tkm.mb.ca/education/
Education World http://www.education-world.com/
High School Hub http://highschoolhub.org/
Hippias http://hippias.evansville.edu/
Infomine http://infomine.ucr.edu/
Insectclopedia http://www.insectclopedia.com/
LII.org http://www.lii.org/ Librarian's Index to the Internet
Library in the Sky http://www.nwrel.org/sky/
Search Edu http://www.searchedu.com/ Search through more than 20 000 000 university pages.
The School Site http://www.bottco.com/Schoolsite/index.html
Wisdom http://www.thinkers.net/

Lists of Affiliate Programs

Affiliate Search http://www.search-affiliates.com/
AssociatePrograms http://www.associateprograms.com/

Art Search Engines

Adam http://adam.ac.uk/
Art Guide http://www.artguide.org/
Artnet http://www.artnet.com/
ArtSeek http://artseek.com/

Business Search Engines

All Business Directory http://www.allbusiness.com/directory/index.jsp
Canada One http://www.canadaone.com/business/index.html Canadian businesses and business resources
Corporate Information http://www.corporateinformation.com Search companies by country or U.S. state
CorpTech http://www.corptech.com/ 50,000 high tech companies
Industry Central http://www.industry-central.com/
International Trade http://internationaltrade.org/webindex/index.html
The Dotcom Directory http://www.dotcomdirectory.com/
Qango http://business.qango.com/ UK based B2B search engine
Small Biz Search http://smallbiz.searchking.com/
Yellow Pages http://www.yellow.com

Christian Search Engines

Active Spidering http://www.active-ss.com/
Bible Gateway http://bible.gospelcom.net/ A search engine with the Bible as database.
Christianity Today http://www.christianitytoday.com/search/ Database of church and Christian sites
Cross Search http://www.crosssearch.com/
Everything Christian http://www.everythingchristian.org/

Lists of Free Stuff

Freebies Planet http://www.freebiesplanet.com/
Hot Free Site http://www.hotfreesite.com/

Hotel Search Engines

Hotel Search Engine http://www.hotel-search-engine.com/

Image Search Engines

AltaVista Image Search http://www.altavista.com/cgi-bin/query?mmdo=16&stype=simage
Diggit http://www.giggit.com/
Ditto http://www.ditto.com/
Excite Photo Search http://photosearch.excite.com/
Google Image Search http://images.google.com/
Photo Disc http://www.photodisc.com/
IconBank http://iconbank.com/gx/index.htm

Internet-Specific Search Engines

Internet Commodities Market http://www.netcommodities.com/ (List of the best Internet products and services)
ISP Finder http://ispfinder.com/ (Finds Internet service providers)

Search Engines for Kids

Animal Search http://animalsearch.galganov.net/
Ask Jeeves For Kids http://www.ajkids.com/
Giraffen http://www.giraffen.dk/
Kids Click http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/KidsClick!/
Yahooligans http://www.yahooligans.com/

Literature Search Engines

Fictionsearch http://www.fictionsearch.com/
FreeBook http://www.free-book.co.uk/ Directory of free online books
Planet Doom http://planetdoomportal.searchking.com/ Sci-Fi, fantasy and horror
Share Look http://literatur.sharelook.de/ German

People Finders

AnyWho http://www.anywho.com/
BigFoot http://www.bigfoot.com/
ICQ White Pages http://www.icq.com/whitepages/search.html
WhoWhere http://www.whowhere.lycos.com/
Yahoo! People Search http://www.yahoo.com/search/people

Medical / Health Search Engines

Achoo http://www.achoo.com/search/achoo.asp
Alternative Medicine http://www.healthlinkusa.com/383.htm
CliniWeb http://www.ohsu.edu/cliniweb/search.html
Health Index http://www.healthindex.com/home.asp
Health A to Z http://www.healthatoz.com/atoz/default.asp
Med411 http://www.med411.com/
MedExplorer http://www.medexplorer.com/
Med Scopio http://www.medscopio.com.br/
Med Web Plus http://www.medwebplus.com/
Mirago http://www.medisearch.co.uk/

Music and mp3 Search Engines

Audio Find http://www.audiofind.com/
Bluegrass Acoustic http://music.searchking.com/
Lyrics Search http://lyrics.astraweb.com
MP3.com http://www.mp3.com
MSE http://besides.ipc.ru/cgi-bin/linkmat.cgi
Music Search http://www.musicsearch.com/

News Search Engines

ABYZ News Links http://www.abyznewslinks.com/
Aileena http://www.aileena.com/ (Over 5'500 links to newspapers, radio- and TV-stations in 174 countries)
PPPPNet http://pppp.net/links/news/
News.com http://www.news.com/
News Directory http://www.newsdirectory.com/
Newspapers.com http://www.newspapers.com/
Radio Locator http://www.radio-locator.com/bc.html (links to 7000+ radio stations)
WwideWeb http://www.wwideweb.com/

Lists of Newsletters / E-zines

Ezine Universe http://www.ezine-universe.com/
EzineCentral http://ezinecentral.com/
List of Lists http://catalog.com/vivian/interest-group-search.html
Pandecta's Top 20 http://pandecta.com/bezines.html (Pandecta Magazine's Top 20 business e-zines)
Topica http://www.topica.com/

Maps and Directions Search Engines

Map Machine http://www.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine
Yahoo! Maps http://maps.yahoo.com/

Science Search Engines

ResearchIndex http://researchindex.com/
SciCentral http://www.sciquest.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ExecMacro/sci_index.d2w/report
SciSeek http://www.sciseek.com/

Web Development Search Engines

After Page http://www.afterpage.com/
Free Site Tools http://www.freesitetools.com/
Graphic Design Portal http://graphicdesign.searchking.com/
NetWeave http://www.netweave.co.uk/index.html
Web Developer's Virtual Library http://wdvl.com/ Recommended
Webmaster's Tool list http://pandecta.com/webmaster_tools.html Pandecta's list of tools for webmasters


Search Engine Book: Search Engine Year BookThis page is based on information contained in the Search Engine Yearbook 2003. For more detailed search engine information & help, please refer to the current version of the book.

EnginePaper Newsletter for Search Engine NewsStay up to date on changes in the search engine world with the EnginePaper Newsletter. It goes out only when something important changes in the search engine world. Subscribe now with a blank email to send-ep-subscribe@topica.com . It's 100% free and safe. View our full privacy policy here.


BUY THE BOOK
MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE BOOK (INCLUDING THE FULL TOC)
DOWNLOAD THE FREE (LIMITED) VERSION

Mini Sitemap:

ABOUT SEARCH ENGINES

THE MAJOR SEARCH ENGINES

SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION

How Search Engines Work
Stats: Relative Database Sizes
Search Engine Statistics
Search Engine Relationships
Search Engine News
Meta Search Engines
Robots & Spiders
Robots.txt And The Robots Meta Tag
Internet Searching
Internet Search Strategies
Articles On Internet Searching
Tutorials On Internet Searching
Pandecta Search Engine Awards
Top Search Engine Resources

 

Google
AltaVista
Yahoo
DMOZ (ODP)
Excite
AlltheWeb
Teoma
Direct Hit
Wisenut
Topical Search Engines
Other Interesting Search Engines
Phone Number Directories / Search Engines
The Big Search Engine List


Overview: Search Engine Industry
Overview: Web Marketing
Content Is (Still) King
Keyword Targeting
Link Popularity
Invisible Text
Cloaking
Resubmission
Domain Names In SEO
Cross Linking
Getting Doorway Pages Right
Updated Thinking On Meta Tags
Submission Software
Why Can't I Get My Site Listed?
If You Can't Beat'em, Delete'em
Pay Per Click Marketing
Other Ways To Promote Your Site
Search & SEO Newsletters & Ezines
SEO Articles
SEO Training: SEO Tutorials
About SEO Companies
SEO Resources
SEO Tools

HOME -- DISCLAIMER -- CONTACT
© Copyright 2003, Pandecta Magazine. All Rights Reserved.
The information published on this site may not be reproduced without prior written permission from Pandecta Magazine.
Pandecta Magazine is not affiliated to any of the search engines or companies mentioned on this site. "Pandecta", "Search Engine
Yearbook" and "EnginePaper" are trademarks of Pandecta Magazine. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of the
disclaimer.

SEY logo design created by Biz-logo.com

 

God 1st